• .
    .

Thought Leaders: 2021 U.S. Medical Office Trends: Resilience Amid Historic Change (CBRE)

The U.S. health care industry and medical office market were impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic in 2020. Despite the downturn, health care employment rebounded much more rapidly than the broader job market, and medical office buildings were more insulated from the sharp declines in demand for most other property types.

• Health care employment fell by as much as 6.4% in 2020, but a return to secular, stable growth is expected over the next five years.

• Medical office properties are expected to see a strong rebound in demand this year once the COVID-19 virus recedes. Investors are sensing good growth opportunities with pricing and sales transaction levels more resilient than for most property types.

• While telehealth will clearly play a greater role in health care, its impact on medical offices is likely to be negligible.
In this report, CBRE forecasts the top 10 trends most likely to impact the medical office sector’s recovery, including employment growth, capital flows and leasing demand.

EXPLORE THE REPORT

Connect with CBRE Healthcare Experts

CBRE Healthcare Capital Markets

Visit the U.S. Reports Page

Contacts:

Chris Bodnar
Vice Chairman
CBRE
+1 303 628 1711
chris.bodnar@cbre.com

Lee Asher
Vice Chairman
CBRE
+1 404 504 5965
lee.asher@cbre.com

John Poulos
Executive Managing Director
CBRE
+1 216 448 8530
john.poulos@cbre.com

Richard Barkham, Ph.D., MRICS
Global Chief Economist &
Head of Americas Research
CBRE
+1 617 912 5215
richard.barkham@cbre.com

Spencer Levy
Chairman, Americas Research & Senior Economic Advisor
CBRE
+1 617 912 5236
spencer.levy@cbre.com

Julie Whelan
Global Head of Occupier Research
CBRE
+1 617 912 5229
julie.whelan@cbre.com

Ian Anderson
Senior Director of Research and Analysis
CBRE
+1 215 561 8997
ian.anderson2@cbre.com

The full content of this article is only available to paid subscribers. If you are an active subscriber, please log in. To subscribe, please click here: SUBSCRIBE

Existing Users Log In